Watch out! I got burned [was: Fraudulent behaviour regarding your ebay account]

From: Paul Sterngold (psterngold@No-Spam)
Date: Fri Oct 31 2003 - 08:03:32 MST

  • Next message: Paul Sterngold: "Re: Source for LED flashlights"

    There is also one or more scams that are occurring on eBay and even in
    recycler.com, a SoCal classifieds. Somebody or bodies overseas are
    listing scopes and accessories on eBay, with the alert to "contact seller
    before bidding" in the listing. When you contact the seller, he offers to
    sell the item to you at a huge discount. The item is usually listed in
    the US but turns out to be overseas. The description and photos are
    copied from the manufacturer's website or from other, legit ads.

    If you contact the seller, his email domain can be accessed on the web
    ("www.") and at first glance seems legit, but if you look for two more
    seconds, it's obviously not. The seller will even offer to do the
    transaction through a bogus escrow company, they too have a website that
    looks quasi-legit but upon further inspection is not. Here's a current
    example:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3152494360

    I contacted him just for yucks, this is his email domain website:

    http://www.inter-warehouse.com

    I too would like to inform eBay but they make it so difficult that I gave
    up. Any suggestions?

    It's embarassing to admit but I got burned about eight months ago on a
    pair of Tak 22x60 fluorite binocs, wouldn't they have been lovely at 1/3
    new price? The seller even gave me a phone number (overseas in Romania)
    and I called and spoke with him. I thought that was adequate confirmation
    that he was legit, boy was I gullible. Fortunately, I only sent a
    deposit. Don't get burned, be careful. And always remember, if a deal
    looks too good to be true, it probably is.

    Cheers,
    Paul Sterngold

    __________________________________
    Do you Yahoo!?
    Exclusive Video Premiere - Britney Spears
    http://launch.yahoo.com/promos/britneyspears/



    The Astronomy Connection -- Mailing List Archives