OT: Fraudulent behaviour regarding your ebay account

From: Michelle Stone (mstone@No-Spam)
Date: Fri Oct 31 2003 - 02:51:21 MST

  • Next message: Julius: "Rep: Fraudulent behaviour regarding your ebay account"

    Hey gang, I know that this is way off topic but...

    I just received an email stating that my ebay account had been disabled. It
    said that I could no longer use my account in any way or re-register.

    It then provided a link so that I could look up my account information. I
    followed the link to the site and it had a form for me to fill out to get my
    information. It all looked very official ebay. It asked for all of my
    account info... and credit card information. This sounded way to
    suspicious.

    The URL looked ebay... but I checked. It is not ebay. I checked my account
    directly on ebay and it is fine.

    I attempted to register notice with ebay for this fraudulant behaviour, but
    they don't have a convenient way to do it, so I thought that I'd just pass
    this on to my friends.

    I suppose the only way to deal with these kinds of issues is not to trust
    what's in your email box. Don't click on the enclosed URL's. Go directly to
    the real site to check your stats.

    Michelle Stone
    Custom Telescopes by Plettstone
    http://www.plettstone.com/telescopes



    The Astronomy Connection -- Mailing List Archives