I just got off the phone with PayPal, who told me this is not a legitimate
PayPal e-mail. I mention this since it looks quite real other than a few
suspicious clues: the URL (which I've removed so nobody can click on it)
began with something similar to but not http://www.paypal.com and, when on
the web-page it refers to there is no SSL secure indicator displayed on the
status bar, and there are some broken icons.
The web-page asks for lots of personal information, including credit card.
Here is a copy of what I received:
>Delivered-To: resource-resource-intl:com-mgw@No-Spam
>X-Envelope-To: mgw@No-Spam
>To: mgw@No-Spam
>Subject: Account problem
>From: support@No-Spam <support@No-Spam>
>Date: Thu, 10 Apr 2003 13:57:45 +0200 (CEST)
>
>Dear valued PayPal member:
>It has come to our attention that your PayPal billing updates are
>out of order. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your
>online experience and update your billing records you will not run
>into any future problems with the online service. However, failure
>to update your records will result in account termination. Please
>update your records by April 25th.
>
>
>Once you have updated your account records your PayPal session will not be
>interrupted and will continue as normal. Failure to update will result in
>cancellation of service, Terms of Service (TOS) violations or future billing
>problems.
>
>To update your PayPal records click here:
>(here is where I removed the URL)
>
>
>PayPal Update team
>http://www.paypal.com